Escondido, CA
Mostly clear
Mostly clear

Five Escondido teachers to be among those honored at Salute to Teachers Sept.10



Five Escondido teachers will be honored at the 26th annual Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers show, which will be live downtown at the Balboa Theatre at 8 p.m. on September 10.

Now in it’s 26th year, the annual “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” program will recognize five teachers who teach and/or live in the Escondido area as nominees for the 2016-17 Teacher of the Year honor.

Out of 43 total nominees throughout the county, this year’s teachers were selected by their respective school districts, and five will be named County Teacher of the Year during the Academy Awards-style event on Saturday, Sept. 10 at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego.

There are five teachers who live and/or work in Escondido. In fact, San Pasqual High School math teacher Yun Won Lutgen lives and works in the community! Other teachers include: • Kirsten Josephson, Mission Middle School (hometown: Encinitas) • Walt Brame, Reidy Creek Elementary (hometown: San Marcos) Other Escondido residents include: • Robin Hooper, Hannalei Elementary • Janet Stoddard, Foothills High School • The top five teachers are selected based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy and personal style, knowledge of educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, accountability, and their ability to serve as ambassadors of education.

The County Teacher of the Year winners will go on to represent the region at the California Teacher of the Year program later this year.

The gala event is brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union and produced by Cox Communications in cooperation with the San Diego County Office of Education.

The community is encouraged to attend the gala. The show also will air live on Channel 4 San Diego.

Visit to purchase tickets, or call the Balboa Theatre Box Office at 570-1100 from any San Diego area code.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *